Paola legit linguam latinam

Nobody knows how Latin was pronounced but because it was one of the languages that was spoken in Italian peninsula it would be natural that it sounded a little bit like Italian today. Like mother like daughter or like we say: no apple drops far away from the tree. On my video Paola, digital human voice, reads Latin using Italian accent.

Moreover like Finns can play with the word order in sentence today I believe Latin could do the same 2000 years ago. That’s why I am very skeptic that Latin was never spoken on the streets like Cicero and other boys wrote it in the books. That manner is due to the poetical metrics. Because every word inflects depending on mode, time, gender and/or person, it was difficult to get syllables in the patterns otherwise. This is a common trick also in the older Finnish poetry as our words also inflect. On the other hand the traditional Finnish song poetry didn’t behave in that way because it used its own metrics. The Kalevala, Finnish National epic, has strongly impact on J.R.R. Tolkien.

Without that clinical usage Latin might have survived for us to speak. Perhaps Latin speakers on the streets placed adjectives after the main word as it happens in Romance languages even today. In some idioms the place of object was at the beginning of the sentence but was it always the case. More likely the different word orders in sentence had different nuances, like it is in Finnish, and sometimes even different meanings.

By the way, the title of this post is grammatically incorrect because it doesn’t follow the SOV rule,which requires that the verb is after the object in the sentence. It should be Paola linguam latinam legit according to grammar books. 

On my video Paola, digital human voice, reads Latin using Italian accent.

Paola legit linguam latinam Paola reads Latin
Eius latina bona est. Her Latin sounds good.
Paola quaerit: Paola asks:
”Quid agis?” ”How are you?”
Tu respondes: You reply:
”Bene, gratia, ”I’m well, thanks,
Et tu?” And you”?
Paola: Paola:
”Bene valeo etiam.” ”I feel fine too.”
Tu: You:
”Nunc mihi eundum est.” ”Now I must go.”
Paola: Paola:
”Omnia bona tibi exopto.” ”I wish you all the best.”
Tu: You:
”Gratia, et similiter, vale!” ”Thank you, and likewise, bye for now!”
Paola: Paola:
”Vale!” ”Bye, bye!

Habetis diem bonam!

Your Homework

003 Sol de Mea Vita

Please print this postcard and give it to your special one. If you don’t understand the message you are going to get a splendid quality time when you translate it together 😉

About Yelling Rosa

I am retired. In my spare time I read, write, play the guitar and hike. I have published three verse books in Finnish and recorded my songs. You can listen to them on YouTube. I have translated some of my poems on Yelling Rosa's Weblog. I also like to watch movies. Olen kiinnostunut lukemisesta, kirjoittamisesta, kitaransoitosta ja luonnossa vaeltamisesta. Olen julkaissut kolme runokirjaa ja laulujani on äänitteillä. Voit lukea runojani Yelling Rosan kotisivuilta ja kuunnella laulujani YouTubessa. Olen elokuvafriikki.
This entry was posted in Languages, Literature, Nature, Poetry, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Paola legit linguam latinam

  1. Karin says:

    I think if I’d learned Latin with the Italian inflection, it might have stayed with me the same way that my Spanish does. Neat post 🙂

    Like

  2. A fascinating post! Thank you.

    Like

  3. BroadBlogs says:

    Thank God for Latin. I wish we all spoke Latin languages. The world would be a better place. Or at least sound better.

    Like

  4. Dalo 2013 says:

    Very cool post…my parents had to study Latin, in fact one of their friends almost did not get married because the guy did not study Latin in school and it was a prerequisite of her parents way back when…how times have changed. Great post!

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Hi,
      Thank you for your interesting story how things were in past. Latin is still a good aid to understand English and other Indoeuropean languages.
      Take care
      yr
      PS You had lively photos of the cowboy life. Thank you for them.

      Like

  5. mistermuse says:

    Hoc ei propinabo! (I hope that says what I think it says!) 🙂

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Hi,
      Most likely you want to say that you pay respect to her (Paola) or drink a toast to her. The verb ”propinare” alone means ”drink a toast to” and someone (to whom you drink) is in the dative case as you have written. ”Ei propinabo” means that you will give respect to her in the future. ”Ei propino” means that you drink to her (health) now, pledge, give to drink or yield up her. Shortly pay some sort of respect. I don’t know about that ”hoc”. It is a pronoun and means this or these. ”Nunc; hoc tempore” means ”now”.

      If you are interested in Latin you find a good and free parser at: http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/morph?l=chartis&la=latin
      with it and a good dictionary you will make some progress. A good dictionary means that you know what cases you should use with any verbs in question. Propinare takes the dative case and so on. At the moment I am in two minds whether to give more of my time to Latin than the basics.
      All the best to you

      Liked by 2 people

  6. RMW says:

    Latin was a requirement when I was in school in England… I enjoyed walking around town translating all the Latin enscriptions om the buildings… it also helped me understand words that were new to me as if I understood the Latin root I could figure out the meaning of the word… that is all lost today.

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Hi,
      Thank you for commenting and telling us about your studies and use of Latin. As you said it’s almost impossible to understand some English words without knowing some Latin. When you know Latin roots of the words that have been adopted to English it all makes better sense. It is sad that Latin has abandoned today because it helped us in many ways.
      Take care

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.