Could You Wipe My Face Video

Background of this song:

At the beginning of the 90s I saw the dream where the dying tree stopped me and asked me to console her. The first thing in the morning when I still remembered my dream I opened my recorder and sang the story on the tape by accompanying myself on the piano. After the instant music session I did only a few corrections in the lyrics and added the intro which served also as an interlude. I gave the song name Ystävä voisitko kasvoni pyyhkiä (My Friend Could You Wipe My Face).

In 1996 I made a Music Album, Hiljaisia lauluja (Tranquil Songs) with a Finnish musician and my good friend Jouni Juola. Because the theme of the album was “Perishableness ja calmness” Ystävä voisitko kasvoni pyyhkiä was like it has made for it. Jouni sang the songs on the album but the instruments are played together. Also Jouni’s songs are on the album. This autumn (2014), when I translated the lyrics in English, I omitted the words My Friend from the title. Video is published 6/23 2013.

I included in this post both the lyrics and notes of the song. It takes more room on the screen but I am sure that those of you who like to follow also notes will appreciate this effort. Now they don’t have to click to the other home page in order to see them.

Could You Wipe My Face (Yelling Rosa)

1.

Once upon a time when I saw the dying tree
that gently touched my hand and said with the husky voice:
“Could you take your T-shirt off and wipe my wet face with it,
could you help me and wipe my face dear friend.
I spread my boughs towards the blue sky but I can’t breathe.
There is no longer oxygen left for me.”
I shrugged and briefly told her:
“I am not the sun, and certainly not the wind that clears the air.
I am nothing more than an oil stained dirty streamer in this time.
I’m only fumes of pollution. I’m just an oil stained dirty streamer
in this time. I’m only fumes of pollution.”

2.

“It doesn’t matter what you are because you can stay
and be my companion tonight when this pilgrimage
everlasting makes it back to the beginning,
when this wandering gets back to the beginning.”
All night long I heard the agonizing rattle
but lastly the tree collapsed with the huge grumble.
When she weakly lifted her head up once and for all
and thanked me for being her guardian, I gave her my hand.
Thus it was easier for her to go away,
easier to vanish away Sure I held her hand tight
so it was easier for her to leave from here for good.

Final

Sure I held her hand tight so it was easier
for her to leave from here for good.
Sure I held her hand tight so it was easier
for her to leave from here for good.

Music and words © Yelling Rosa

wipemyface01

wipemyface02

Hiljaisia lauluja: Yelling Rosa and Jouni Juola, 1996

Finnish music sheets

I hope that you enjoy listening to this song and perhaps think how much nature needs gentle love from us in order to feel better and survive as long as the last human beings and even longer.

About Yelling Rosa

I am retired. In my spare time I read, write, play the guitar and hike. I have published three verse books in Finnish and recorded my songs. You can listen to them on YouTube. I have translated some of my poems on Yelling Rosa's Weblog. I also like to watch movies. Olen kiinnostunut lukemisesta, kirjoittamisesta, kitaransoitosta ja luonnossa vaeltamisesta. Olen julkaissut kolme runokirjaa ja laulujani on äänitteillä. Voit lukea runojani Yelling Rosan kotisivuilta ja kuunnella laulujani YouTubessa. Olen elokuvafriikki.
This entry was posted in Literature, Music, Nature, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Could You Wipe My Face Video

  1. davidkitz says:

    Beautiful words and thoughts, thanks.

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Thank you for taking part in understanding that we must respect nature for the sake of ourselves. If fauna and flora gets sick on this planet we will be taken down with them also. Take care

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That is so true. I so wished our Government in Australia would read those wise words. Thank you.

    Like

  3. sherazade says:

    Dear friend let me say it in italian.
    Bella musica originale e pensieri importanti che ci uniscono in un abbraccio universale.
    Sweet dreams shera

    Like

  4. You are really talented here with this.

    Like

  5. Ginene Nagel says:

    This song made me cry. I think maybe a song or poem has brought tears to my eyes only a few times in my life. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Don says:

    beautiful song, beautiful lyrics.

    Like

  7. Lotta Wanner says:

    Beautiful story and the text from the dream! Thank you for sharing!! 😃

    Like

  8. Aquileana says:

    Beautiful poem ⭐
    You are a great writer!, Best wishes and happy almost weekend ahead to you,
    Aquileana 😛

    Like

  9. Mike says:

    I am inordinately impressed with every element of this page. My compliments on these wonderful works.

    Like

  10. daniellajoe says:

    Very touching and tender….keep up the beautiful work 😄

    Like

  11. oh boy… lovely.

    Like

  12. Tim says:

    Lovely!
    Greets from Dublin.
    Tim

    Like

  13. Jet Eliot says:

    A beautiful song and lyrics, and I enjoyed your sharing of the background, too.

    Like

  14. megdekorne says:

    Your hope is alive and I thankyou … Xx

    Like

  15. DG MARYOGA says:

    Blessed those who can interpret the unwritten laws of nature and decode its alarming signals! Most evocative and suggestive song and lyrics !

    Like

  16. Dalo 2013 says:

    This is a great example of why songs exist ~ and stories of the heart must be told. Beautiful lyrics, melody and music makes for an unforgettable song. Love this…

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Thank you. The dream I saw was very evoking and the song arose by itself immediately I got out of the bed. I left the words unfinished because I wanted to keep a story telling feeling. Jouni did a marvellous performance while singing the song. Even today I wonder how skillfully he fitted the syllables in the melody. Rising notes weren’t always on the first syllable but in the middle of words. I try to keep same touch with English words. I don’t know if that comes out. Take care

      Like

  17. Allie says:

    Hey Yelling Rosa, great to meet you. I realy love the fact you wrote this after a dream. It was meant to be. I have not been able to listen to the song yet as I am in a very noisy place. I will listen later. The words are very touching indeed and so true. I love nature too and try to protect all living things. I do my best as I know you do. Big hugs. x

    Like

Comments are closed.