The Soul on the Cross

My God, My God,
why have You forsaken me,
created this joy
among all the pain
of the world?
Should I shed tears
or smile?
Without the knowledge
my heart suffers
and mind restlessly
looks for the solution.

If I said:
Our daily bread
is not flat, not round
or soft,
but the profound understanding
that it is made of grain
wherever we go
and sit at the table,
nobody would be all ears.
Why they don’t hear me,
because it alone
put out this flame
of guilt.

Is this why
we are kept on earth?
If this will be worked out
will the gates of Heaven
open to us?
Thus I cry out loud:
let us free the spirit
by breaking bread
with a man
next to us.
© Yelling Rosa
14/11 -13

About Yelling Rosa

I desing home pages. In my spare time I read, write, play the guitar and hike. I have published three verse books in Finnish and recorded my songs. You can listen to them on YouTube. I have translated some of my poems on Yelling Rosa's Weblog. I also like to watch movies. Olen kiinnostunut lukemisesta, kirjoittamisesta, kitaransoitosta ja luonnossa vaeltamisesta. Olen julkaissut kolme runokirjaa ja laulujani on äänitteillä. Voit lukea runojani Yelling Rosan kotisivuilta ja kuunnella laulujani YouTubessa. Olen elokuvafriikki.
This entry was posted in Literature, Nature, Society. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to The Soul on the Cross

  1. Gallivanta says:

    How much better off we all would be if we spent more time breaking bread together.

    Like

  2. sherazade says:

    Thus I cry out loud:
    let us free the spirit
    by breaking bread
    with a man
    next to us.
    This only gaves sense to our lives. tks🙂

    shera

    Like

  3. Hola , nuevamente agradecida por visitar mi blog.
    Que disfrutes de una hermosa semana.

    Like

  4. annapos says:

    Poetry with the hope that if not here on earth, and once up there with God?

    Like

  5. this is poetry at it’s finest – so enjoyed reciting this a number of times

    Like

  6. kaldina says:

    WOW! Love it!!! Really nice rhythm… Its hard to do that, I can’t, im working in a short story and the rhythm is one of my biggest issues.

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Thank you Kaldina.

      Everyone finds sooner or later the best way to handle the different elements of the story in own personal way. I can only say how I approach the story. I don’t write it but I make entries of it in the book. I feel that poets are troubadours who are meant to sing aloud the existing stories not to invent them.

      Every occurrence of the existence includes the beat. Only its frequency varies. If these two elements are not synchronized together there will be the out-of-step melody. When I was a young lad I didn’t trust in nature but try to make it better when it just came worse. I kind of adding the human aspect there like it could be separated from the life in general. Now I agree that we are the part of the life, id est. universe, only that, even though, we so often think highly of ourselves.

      Of course, this is only my comprehensiveness and yours might be totally different so you are better off following your heart which has its own beat. I believe that it differs from the universal beat only by the metrical frequency. It always does.

      I visited your blog and read your stories. Most likely you doubt yourself in vain.

      All the best for you, troubadour.

      PS. Sometimes I miss the rhythm but then I give up the scribble. When there are too many holes in the stocking it is a waste of time to darn it.

      Like

  7. Your poem captured me immediately. Even before the bread. We hear/read little about the joy that comes with the pain. “Should I shed tears or smile?” Profound – and something I’m sure many of us wrestle with. How can we be happy, when there’s so much suffering? Does the profound understanding of it all come by joining ‘bread’ with our fellow humans? Beautiful thought-provoking poem.

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Thank you for your reply.

      Yes, I admit that this is not a piece of cake because there are so much in our life that makes simple things complicated, and most of the times this is what we want. It would be very hard to admit that it is wrong when we leave some people on their own when we could help them. It is easier to say that they are to blame for their miserable lives.

      We don’t do this because we are evil or selfish but we believe that if we help others we might lose our own place in the world. At the moment it would most likely be the case. There are too many wrong prophets preaching inhuman methods and they don’t do it because they are afraid of losing what they have now but making more money.

      These men/women are smart all the crown it all. They find always the right arguments why selfish is justified. We have heard that poor people are lazy, they reproducing irresponsible and they don’t want to educate themselves and so on. The best argument I have heard is that when we help those in need we actually teach them how to manage without work. These are good ones because they are logical in a way but the universe, life, is too enormous to be logical from one man’s point of view. It can be logical only in the large universal perspective.

      At the moment the mankind lives in critical state in many aspects. The technology gives us new opportunities but on the other hand the globe is running out the resources. It is easy to stir the flour into water and extreme movements stick out from the crowd. In this mental chaos we easily forget the main question; do we leave those in need without help?
      In the long run, do we have any other choice than break bread? The denial of some part of the human population will lead us to self-destruction. It might work for awhile but not till the end. Humans won’t voluntarily give up their lives. On the other hand, the globe can’t take this much longer. We all have to face this sooner or later, even though we are hiding now in the bushes. Knowing history this usually happens when the accident has already happened. This time we can’t afford to be late.

      Giving would be two birds with one stone. It guarantees everyone’s existence in the world and put our conscience in rest. It all is up to us. I have only written the poem which describes the situation where we live now. It differs from any earlier times in the world. The poor have always raised emotions for and against. This time there is no liberty of choice, or is there? You decide it.

      Unfortunately, this is so big question that I only have touched the tip of the iceberg. One thing is anyway crystal clear: we can’t fool ourselves much longer. Of course, whatever can happen, but it is not likely that some natural catastrophe would kill so much people that the globe has room again to our standards. It most likely put an end to all living forms. So let’s not hope that salvation.

      It is not often when we can be happy after being wrong. In this time I really like to be wrong that something came to resque us, but can we put our faith in that.

      Like

  8. Beautiful and inspiring poem.The world would be much peaceful if we believe in love each other.Thank you for visiting my blog.and liking my post The L.A. Times.Best regards.jalal

    Like

  9. dilip says:

    Beautiful poem. Faith and gratitude to the Almighty is the right way🙂

    Like

  10. We are living through a time chaotic. It is a beautiful poem and it makes you reflect. We need to share more, smile and cry. Yes, the problem is our misunderstanding, we do not understand and therefore we suffer

    Like

  11. A poetry like a prayer.
    Good.
    Nicola

    Like

  12. blackwatertown says:

    Very impressive and heartfelt poem.

    Like

  13. Seija says:

    So beautiful and so true. Thank you.

    Like

  14. These reflections hit most of us at times. Sometimes we find comfort other times not.

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Thank you for your reply.

      That’s true but can we wait this time when there is less to deal and more people who want to share it. Someone has to give in or the consequences will be catastrophic. Unfortunately I am afraid that we are not ready for so big social change. All theories which keep us going on should test from the new point of view, new necessity, and we all know how impetuously we are against the new things even on the small scale.

      Well, I am just like everyone else and mostly hide my head in the bushes. This poem is the cry for help on the individual and social level. We all are on the cross, on the stake. That’s how we feel, as you said, but what next, will there be the next phase?

      I wish all the best for us and inventiveness.

      YR

      PS As I told before here in comments that it is not often when we can be happy after being wrong. This time I really like to be wrong and the world hadn’t nothing to worry about.

      Like

  15. A short and powerful poem…. I enjoyed it, especially its depth…. Barbara

    Like

  16. Pingback: The Soul on the Cross | Telecom and Sonnet

  17. annetbell says:

    Many thanks for your like. I hope you will revisit again soon and often. Your poems are lovely! Namaste. . . .

    Like

  18. coastalcrone says:

    I have enjoyed exploring your blog! Thank you for the recent like for one of my posts.

    Like

  19. Hola buenos días.
    Te deseo un fin de semana con mucha felicidad.

    Like

  20. Giovanni says:

    Hi! It looks like you may be a Christian. I am a Christian, and I appreciate your poem.

    Like

  21. annisik51 says:

    Here’s to breaking some cyber bread together! Ann

    Like

  22. I love this poem. Congratulations.

    Like

  23. Aquileana says:

    I enjoyed the way you have used poetic images which relate to different states of mind.

    And overall the way you have led us to a sort of mystic Journey of self discovery and Joy…

    Thanks for sharing, cheers, Aquileana🙂

    Like

  24. araanz50 says:

    `⋎´✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•✫Thank you
    ..✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•.✫
    ☻/ღ˚ •。* ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。* °♥ ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ 。
    /▌*˛˚ღ •˚ ✰* ★¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•✫
    / \ ˚. ★ *˛ ˚* ✰。˚ ˚ღ。* ˛˚ 。✰˚* ˚ ★ღ ˚ 。✰ •* ˚ ”
    …….✬██████___██████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    ….✬████████✬████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬¸
    …✬██████████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    ..✬███████████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    ….✬█████████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬
    ….._✬███████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬✫ …..___✬████████████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•✫
    ……._____✬███████✬▒▒▒▒▒✬✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•✫
    …….._______✬███✬___✬▒✬✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°•✫ .
    ___________Kisses…….Araan______________

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Thank you and kisses for you but without all those curls.
      I must make it to sleep before the midnight today and now the time is already 20 minutes to eleven am.🙂🙂🙂
      YR

      Like

  25. Your poem is very real to me this last month…I feel overwhelmed with life and the pain and violence surrounding me. I see how important it is to take time to go to my Center…to listen with my heart and feel God’s Love…

    Like

  26. Powerful convicting words … a soul’s longing … a heart’s plea … thank you so much for visiting my blog.

    Like

Comments are closed.