The Hymn of Life

It is a concoction of
sadness and happiness.
There might be,
in the measuring glass,
a bit more salt than sugar.
It startles the serious mind
but nothing is maligned
when the melody is bought
and sung on the beat
of life.
© Yelling Rosa
23/8 -13

PS I have now bilingual Facebook fan page. Read what I have written about the similarities at: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ilkka-Yelling-Rosa-Pakarinen/332046303608538

About Yelling Rosa

I desing home pages. In my spare time I read, write, play the guitar and hike. I have published three verse books in Finnish and recorded my songs. You can listen to them on YouTube. I have translated some of my poems on Yelling Rosa's Weblog. I also like to watch movies. Olen kiinnostunut lukemisesta, kirjoittamisesta, kitaransoitosta ja luonnossa vaeltamisesta. Olen julkaissut kolme runokirjaa ja laulujani on äänitteillä. Voit lukea runojani Yelling Rosan kotisivuilta ja kuunnella laulujani YouTubessa. Olen elokuvafriikki.
This entry was posted in Literature, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Hymn of Life

  1. KatYa says:

    Brings me peace to know a bit more salt than sugar sometimes is all right. Natural like. Discomfort even suffering is the recipe for change. On the edge of a fear. The edge of unknown. Dive into the chasm if only to allow for what before seemed unreal. Then after a while…a smile. Thank you.

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Thanks. That’s about I felt when I wrote these lines. It was a sunny afternoon when I sit in the park. Suddenly one song started to play in my mind and I wondered why it makes me feel sweet and sad at the same time. There it was a song which was written in Major Scale but sounded in Minor just like our life. If we didn’t feel a bit sad because we can just borrow life for awhile we didn’t much appreciate the beauty of life. After accepting that we can better sing along it.
      Take care of yourself

      Like

  2. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    Like

Comments are closed.