I Don’t Care About Internet Popularity

I don’t care about Internet Popularity because it seems to me that I should give up my personality in order to get such a thing. The most of the popular blogs are much the same and they are promoting by using the same methods. Anyway, if everybody is churning out the same story with the same pictures and songs what’s the idea. Wouldn’t it be sufficient that there is just a few bloggers available and rest of us could go swimming for example. Of course, the exception proves the rule, but I’m talking about the most of the popular blogs.

Internet is a very unfavorable place for a poet. The most of the popular poems with a few exceptions are written by deceased fellows. They have got the public and educational acceptance and assurance of the universal civilization. By liking them we are raising our own status not the development of the literature. Of course this is not the new outcome but Internet is multiply it faster than ever eating away the new verse before it has even recited out loud.

Someone who is reading this article may think that here we have once more one of those bad writers who is pointing out others because can’t accept own shortage. That one can be my guest but the point is not there. The dangerous lies within the uniformity if the personal expression is hushed to dead. All media is playing on the safe side without taking risk but I bet that particularly on Internet this game has gone to the extreme. In the real world is more room for unique people. It is a polite habit to give every member of company a chance to express their opinion and the assembly don’t hush anyone.

Even though it is fighting against the windmills to diverge from the main stream I won’t waste my voice. This wouldn’t be my blog if I don’t use my own stories. I hope that gradually I will find kindred spirits to talk with. It is better to have a few good friends on the same wavelength than the popularity without inner voice. The poetry demands that. It is a nonviolent declaration of war against stereotype.

My policy has invited someone on my blog 838 times during the first half of this year when last year during the same period of time I had 1266 readers. Still this year my articles are read on the average by 76 visitors when last year that number was 63. I have read that blogs should update often and regularly to make them popular but when I would write verse if I were all the time with my blog. Sorry, I can’t be in two places at the same time.

All the best of times for everyone and own kind of fancy as long as it doesn’t hurt anyone.

About Yelling Rosa

I desing home pages. In my spare time I read, write, play the guitar and hike. I have published three verse books in Finnish and recorded my songs. You can listen to them on YouTube. I have translated some of my poems on Yelling Rosa's Weblog. I also like to watch movies. Olen kiinnostunut lukemisesta, kirjoittamisesta, kitaransoitosta ja luonnossa vaeltamisesta. Olen julkaissut kolme runokirjaa ja laulujani on äänitteillä. Voit lukea runojani Yelling Rosan kotisivuilta ja kuunnella laulujani YouTubessa. Olen elokuvafriikki.
This entry was posted in Literature, Society, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Don’t Care About Internet Popularity

  1. LaVagabonde says:

    Good for you. Too many people abandon who they are for the sake of “popularity.”

    Like

  2. I think everyone will realise in time how hollow the internet can be. There’s a wonderful side, but yes that kind of “popularity” can be so hollow. Good to see it!

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Thank you for your reply.

      The main problem is most likely the speed on the Internet: too much happen too fast and we don’t get a good grip on anything. And when we are rushing in order to keep up with the speed we miss many important things and our answers follow the hit or miss tactics.

      But let it be, there’s not much to do about it, and I hope you will have a nice weekend with many accurate perceptions … that we all have.

      Like

Comments are closed.