Is Linux World Open and Free for Everybody

The Linux Gurus use willingly these two words: open and free but I haven’t felt that I am a very welcome customer to their sandbox. They, big and small Linux experts, haven’t given me a single answer to my questions. This has taken me by surprise because I thought that these guys are open-handed idealists who like to render the computing possible to all.

It’s true that Linux operating system is free but it is just the first step on the way to the computing world. If you don’t know how to use the Linux commands or you don’t have time to learn them you will meet the dead end sooner or later when you are using the Linux programs. In my case Ubuntu distribution stopped working after four months. After that I installed Mint. It has worked fine all the way, six months now, but I have been in trouble with my printer and command line sentences. The desktop blogging editors have not managed to upload any of my articles to the server without causing troubles. The printing has changed on the way from my computer to server. In spite of many queries I haven’t gotten any help from the user forums.

I have drawn a conclusion that Linux community is open and free to them who already know at least something about that operating system and programming there. Inexperienced new members are abandoned because they can’t add their mite to the pile. They are retarders who don’t teach any new tricks, and tricks are a vital condition for these gurus. They don’t know anything sweeter than solving out the difficult problems in the code. It is much more important than developing working and user friendly programs to the large amount of people. Well, I so suppose that it’s a good thing that this little cliquish circle is happy. It’s their freedom but it would be wished that they don’t shoot their mouths off. I have read many articles where it is said that the Linux world likes to serve the computing possible to all. All the people don’t have the extra time to learn to set up things in Linux.

I must stop hitting my head against the concrete wall and say goodbye to the Linux World. If I don’t have money to buy the Apple computer I am forced to use my old Windows computer and suffer from malwares or at least pay through my nose in order to get the same of those anti-malware programs. There are free versions of these products but they don’t give so good protection than paid ones. OK, Linux guys, have fun on your own playground. I hope that you get juicy code riddles to talk among yourselves to boredom. Perhaps it will open your eyes to see that there are much more people without nerd skills than with them in this world. Joy shared is joy doubled.

About Yelling Rosa

I desing home pages. In my spare time I read, write, play the guitar and hike. I have published three verse books in Finnish and recorded my songs. You can listen to them on YouTube. I have translated some of my poems on Yelling Rosa's Weblog. I also like to watch movies. Olen kiinnostunut lukemisesta, kirjoittamisesta, kitaransoitosta ja luonnossa vaeltamisesta. Olen julkaissut kolme runokirjaa ja laulujani on äänitteillä. Voit lukea runojani Yelling Rosan kotisivuilta ja kuunnella laulujani YouTubessa. Olen elokuvafriikki.
This entry was posted in Society, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is Linux World Open and Free for Everybody

  1. Dace says:

    I will not argue about the Linux world and the way it is. You are right, it is free but you need to know how to use it. It is not for everybody.

    However, I will strongly disagree with you on anti virus programs for Windows. There are so many free ones that perform much better than some that you need to pay for.
    I am a computer geek and I know what I am talking about. I would not pay for any anti virus programs as free ones do their job just fine.

    Like

  2. bert0001 says:

    There is no free time in the world. Unfortunately. So helping people, full time, is not an option. All you say is true. And in the server world, where linux is ruling these days, paid support is available and it makes redhat and suse and even ubuntu-server big players.
    A difference with wiindows is that you will find a windows nerd in almost every street and conrner of the world, whereas a linuxer with time is less easy to get.
    I make my life income with linux, and I have set up some of my friends in it, for free, with a couple of hours of help now and then while sharing the stories and a drink at the same time. But I don’t see me doing this for non friends, as there would be no added value, telephone calls that would be relayed to voice mail, no motivation to use some of that precious free time to help someone who could as well use windows/mac in stead.
    There are many guys who deliver linux laptops and desktops worldwide and add their value by giving support. There are linux user groups to do the same thing while helping each other. But if you are completely on your own – linux on the desktop is not an option (neither would windows be that option if you had nobody to turn to).

    Like

    • Yelling Rosa says:

      Thanks for your comment, Bert. I agree with you but the main point of my article is not whether Linux experts should do they work free or not, but could they do it so that it helps the common man more. In the Windows world where programmers must be profitable to their companies, the products must meet the consumers’ needs. I am sure that this happens also in the server world where Linux is ruling, as you said.

      So we have now the desktop using of Linux operating system whereas my article tried to ask if Linux programmers and experts could meet us, common men, halfway. If we study the situation the forums you mentioned are often introverted and the members talk their own jargon among themselves. I do understand it is a great pleasure to talk people like us, and every man is doing it more or less, but if we want that the house of Linux had the open door era, we can’t close the gates.
      The wider attitude is the only thing that can make the desktop Linux more popular. Linux experts could ask for example do we really need more distros or one user friendly program installer module which could be used widely, by common computer users as well as programmers who are coding new Linux applications. As you see this doesn’t mean more work, but the new course towards consumers.

      I have realized that old attitudes are hard to die. That’s why I have given up and don’t speak about this conflict anymore. I try to find the best from both worlds, open source and the other one, but you who work with Linux can’t run away the truth that the Linux desktop supply doesn’t meet the general IT demand. It is not me who is losing the potential customers here. The losers in this situation should ask themselves do we want to get more popularity to the desktop Linux or stick to our freedom to be independent.
      Take care

      Like

Comments are closed.