Through These Years – a music video

I have uploaded a new video to YouTube where I am singing my song Läpi näiden vuosien (Through These Years). The song is on my debut single which was released in 1983. On the vinyl I am accompanied by the group of the studio musicians but on this gig recording I am only with my voice and guitar. The performance is a keepsake for the summer 1983. You can watch the video here. It is also embedded at the end of this article. 

The story tells about the man who has practically lost everything and stands all alone on the platform of the new journey. He finds himself ill-treated and he is sad because nobody sees him off. At the beginning of the new pilgrimage he doesn’t see the light but gradually perceive again the scent of the apple trees, the trees of his happy childhood. He gets the strength to continue from the motherly love he got when he was a child.

I might try to translate the lyrics in English one of these months but sometimes it is impossible to transfer an idea from the one language into another because the metaphors don’t work. Thanks if you’re travelling with me awhile when I’m singing.

About Yelling Rosa

I desing home pages. In my spare time I read, write, play the guitar and hike. I have published three verse books in Finnish and recorded my songs. You can listen to them on YouTube. I have translated some of my poems on Yelling Rosa's Weblog. I also like to watch movies. Olen kiinnostunut lukemisesta, kirjoittamisesta, kitaransoitosta ja luonnossa vaeltamisesta. Olen julkaissut kolme runokirjaa ja laulujani on äänitteillä. Voit lukea runojani Yelling Rosan kotisivuilta ja kuunnella laulujani YouTubessa. Olen elokuvafriikki.
This entry was posted in Music, Visual Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Through These Years – a music video

  1. Absolutely beautiful…

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.