The Picture of October

This month I picked up the picture which I have made from my early adult days. You find it here. The picture is recollection of the incident that happened when I was out taking my evening walk. Suddenly I stopped by the window of one of the block of flats. It was almost on the street level so it was easy for me to see inside from the dark to the light of the room. An old man was looking through his window like he were scouting for the life he has lived. The incident was over in few seconds because I was walking on all the time but it stopped me to really think about my own temporalness. An old man saw me well but I couldn’t read his face but somehow I felt we had a short connection with ourselves.

Later on, when I got into the tram car, I had still the face of an old man in my mind. I hope that he would call back his time happily and with great satisfaction, as well as I wished that I could do the same thing when it would be my turn to look at the past. Because the truth is that we all do our best and that’s all we can do.

The worth of our existence is our gift of proceeding life more over. When we are fulfilling this fundamental mission, many of our own plans will be changed. That’s why we are often temped to think that we have failed in our lives. It also may be so that our fellow-men disagree with us, because we have not carried out their hopes and needs or be at least a part of them, but in the end of the day, the only enduring gift we can leave to the posterity is the life itself, we can guarantee that there will be tomorrow for them because we have loved enough to reproduce. When time is up I wish as many of us as possible would remember this.

About Yelling Rosa

I desing home pages. In my spare time I read, write, play the guitar and hike. I have published three verse books in Finnish and recorded my songs. You can listen to them on YouTube. I have translated some of my poems on Yelling Rosa's Weblog. I also like to watch movies. Olen kiinnostunut lukemisesta, kirjoittamisesta, kitaransoitosta ja luonnossa vaeltamisesta. Olen julkaissut kolme runokirjaa ja laulujani on äänitteillä. Voit lukea runojani Yelling Rosan kotisivuilta ja kuunnella laulujani YouTubessa. Olen elokuvafriikki.
This entry was posted in Literature. Bookmark the permalink.